The Men In Blue are currently playing their 3 match T20 series against New Zealand. The first match brought them a victorious win; as they managed to defeat the Black Caps for the first time in T20I Cricket.
As they managed to lead the series by 1-0, the Indian Team faced New Zealand at the second T20 match being held at Rajkot. This match became quite interesting as India was put to chase a hefty target of 196 runs in the required 20 overs.
The “Closed” Opening Partnership
The opening duo didn’t work quite well for India this time, until Virat and Shreyas Iyer joined together. After the dismissal of Iyer, it was MS Dhoni who came to the crease to help Kohli build a good partnership for the team. Both Dhoni and Kohli were going well with chasing the score.
Who dismissed Dhoni?
When India was at a crucial stage, MS Dhoni tried to hit the ball of Santner down the track. While he was trying to do so, he was beaten outside the off-stump by Phillips; the wicket keeper of New Zealand.
Was it given out?
Later, when the umpire went for a referral upstairs it was found that Dhoni managed to stay in the crease despite of being stumped. This was because of his gymnastic skills; where he seemed to stretch his legs wide open inside and out the crease. Yes, the man who has done a lot of stumpings till now managed to escape from a stumping too!
Watch the full video of the failure stumping dismissal of MS Dhoni here below.